Item #CL194-62 Federal Council Of Australasia. After J. Macfarlane, British.
Federal Council Of Australasia
Go Back

Federal Council Of Australasia

1886. Wood engraving, initialled “J.M.” in block lower left, 30.5 x 42.8cm (image), 59.5 x 49.4cm (sheet). Old folds, missing portions to edges including title, repaired tears. Laid down on acid-free paper.

Text includes “Supplement to The Mercury [Hobart], Feb. 12th, 1886. Hon. Adye Douglas, (Tasmania); Hon. S.W. Griffith, QC, (Queensland); Hon. J.R. Dickson, (Queensland); Hon. Dr Macgregor, (Fiji); Hon. James Service, President, (Victoria); Hon. J.S. Dodds, (Tasmania); Hon. J.G. Lee Steere, (Western Aust.); Hon. Graham Berry, (Vic.). Representatives of the First Federal Council Meeting held at Hobart, Jan. 25th, 1886. Printed at The Mercury Office, Macquarie St, Hobart.” Held in SLV.

The Federal Council of Australasia preceded the current Commonwealth of Australia, though its structure and members were different. New South Wales was not represented at the 1886 meeting due to a change in government. The council was abolished by the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900.

Scottish-born John Fleming Cullen Macfarlane “appears to have established himself as an artist in Australia in 1884, when he collaborated with the wood engraver F.A. Sleap (Brit./Aust./Amer., 1855-1935) on a series of illustrations for The Illustrated Australian News.” After 1898 Macfarlane left Australia, continuing his career in England. Ref: R.J. Kirkpatrick (Bear Alley Books); SLV; Wiki.

Item #CL194-62

Please contact us re availability  other currencies

See all items in Prints